WHO MAY OPERATE A VESSEL?
• Those less than 12 years of age: MAY NOT legally operate
any motorized vessel over 10 horsepower (including personal
• Those 12 to 17 years of age: MAY legally operate a
motorized vessel over 10 horsepower (including personal watercraft)
only if they have passed an approved boating safety
course and carry on board their boaters education certificate
or are accompanied on board by a person 18 years old or older or by
a person who posses a boater education card.
Kentucky's Online Boating
Safety Course & Boater Exam
A Safe Boating Test
is required for anyone 12-17 years of age who operates a boat over
10 horsepower. This safety requirement ALSO APPLIES to PERSONAL
• Those 18 years of age or older: MAY operate any vessel on
the waters of Kentucky without restriction.
required to have a boater education certificate must carry it on
board the vessel. These certificates are obtained by passing a
boating safety course approved by the Kentucky Fish and Wildlife
Resources. REMEMBER! A parent, legal guardian or other
adult who has direct supervision over a child under the age of 18
years is responsible if he or she knowingly allows the child to
operate a vessel in violation of Kentucky law.
ACCIDENT OR BOATING
In the event of
an accident or other boating emergency, call the Kentucky
Department of Fish and Wildlife
Resources, Division of Law Enforcement's 24 Hour Emergency Number: 1.800.252.5378.
SITTING ON THE
GUNWALE, BOW, SEAT BACKS,
and any other
area not designed for seating is risky behavior and can result in
falling overboard. It is also illegal in many states.
Kentucky Law states that it is unlawful to operate
a watercraft in a reckless, negligent or dangerous manner
including (but not limited to) allowing passengers to ride on
a vessel in places where there may be a chance of falling.